Is Whey Protein Gluten Free?

Seems like every shelf has Gluten-free products at the grocery recently. Gluten-free diets join low-carb keto diets and the paleo trend as the latest food fads, but what exactly is gluten, and why do food choices need to be free of it?

trimino - protein infused water has always been gluten free. We bring you the skinny on gluten, as well as how to tell gluten-free protein drinks from impostors.

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, oats, barley and rye. Gluten gives grain-based foods like bread, pasta and cake their characteristic soft, chewy texture. Often used as an additive in processed foods, it becomes stretchy when heated and traps gas, which make it possible for baked goods to leaven or rise.

Why Go Gluten Free?

For most people, gluten is not a problem. But around 2% of the population has a condition called celiac disease, a serious autoimmune problem that makes it dangerous to digest gluten. When people born with this genetic condition eat food containing gluten, their own immune system attacks their small intestine, causing damage that can lead to other serious health problems. Some people have a less serious condition known as nonceliac gluten sensitivity (NCGS) and they feel better when they avoid eating gluten-rich foods.

Gluten Free DietGiving up gluten for weight loss is a new and growing trend. While endorsed by anecdotal evidence and celebrity testimonials, there aren't yet significant clinical studies linking gluten-free diets to weight loss. Some suggest that choosing to give up gluten makes people focus on eating more whole foods like fruits and vegetables.

What Is Whey Protein?

Whey protein is derived from dairy byproducts; then concentrated and filtered to remove all the lactose, cholesterol and fat, creating whey protein isolate. Whey protein isolate is 90-95% protein by weight. It's very easy to digest and is considered a complete protein, meaning it contains all the branch chain amino acids (BCAA) your body needs, plus an array of B vitamins to hep convert the protein into fuel for your active lifestyle.

Is Whey Protein Gluten Free?

Yes! Because whey protein does not originate in wheat or any other grain, it is entirely and naturally gluten free. That’s not to say that all protein drinks or protein powders that contain whey protein are gluten free. Some companies add in other ingredients that may contain gluten for better flavor or texture, so it’s best to read the label. trimino - protein infused water delivers 7 grams of whey protein isolate with zero gluten or lactose. It has everything your body needs and none of what it doesn’t.

How Can Whey Protein Help with My Nutritional Goals?

Gluten-free diets aren't without downsides. Many processed gluten-free products are low in fiber, iron, calcium and B vitamins. And, while the gluten-free label adds a "health halo," those products often have higher sodium and calorie counts. Each bottle of trimino - protein infused water has 100% of four B vitamins, 0 added sugar and 0 calories from fat.

The whey protein isolate in triminoHealthy Meal with trimino Pineapple Coconut can help keep you on track for your nutritional and fitness goals. Weighing in at only 28 calories, trimino packs in big, juicy flavor and enough protein to help with muscle recovery so you feel better about staying active. The protein boost also helps you feel satisfied, which may help you skip the carb-loaded snacks.

At trimino, we start with good old-fashioned H2O, so this is one nutrient-rich protein water that also keeps you hydrated. Whether you’re looking to increase physical performance, lose weight or maintain muscle mass, you’ll find that gluten-free trimino is not your ordinary water.


Stay Hydrated with Our Latest News & Offers
Fitness Tips
View All